2019 Alabama Orchestra Association Composition Competition

Since 2000, the AOA has been active in the commissioning of new works of music for the All-State Orchestra Festival. Each year, one or more works has received its World Premiere Performance at the All-State Orchestra Festival. In addition, the composers have spent the weekend in residence at the Festival. Previous composers have included Stella Sung, Alan Moss, David Durant, James Grant, David Ott, James Woodward, Sandra Dackow, James Lee, Lanette Lind, Philip Wharton, Robert J. Bradshaw, Ryan Fraley, Daniel Leo Simpson, Sean Pallatroni, Elizabeth Lim, David Rimelis, Michael Foumai, James Danly, Roger Zare, Alejandro Basulto-Martínez, and Jesus J. Martinez.

The winning composer will receive a cash award of $1,500. In addition, the winning composition will be performed at the 2019 Alabama All-State Orchestra Festival at the University of Alabama in Tuscaloosa on February 11, 2018. The winning composer will also be awarded a residency at the 2019 Alabama All-State Orchestra Festival, which will include airfare from any point in the continental US, accommodations, transportation, and meals.

1 Aug 2018
U.S. Dollar (USD)