IANNIS XENAKIS Second Electronic Music Competition

In an attempt to encourage the creation and diffusion of new electroacoustic works and in order to pay tribute to Iannis Xenakis, a pillar figure in the field of electronic music, Contemporary Music Lab of Aristotle University is organizing the Second International Electroacoustic Composition Competition IANNIS XENAKIS.

Our second competition comes after a succesful organization of our first competition two years ago, which tuned out to be a real celebration of modern electronic music. We did receive around 300 pieces from all over around the world and we had the honour to host two concerts featuring works of Xenakis, Dennis Smalley as well as pieces from all jury members and the winning compositions.

This year he will also have an excellent jury chaired by Trevor Wishart. We hope we will get again works of very high artistic level and we are looking forward to perform them in our future concerts.

Dimitris Maronidis
Artistic Director


– The competition is anonymous and open to composers of any nationality and age, each of whom may submit only one work.
– The composers who were awarded in 2016 Xenakis competition cannot participate to the 2018 competition.
– The submitted work shall be an electroacoustic composition, it is meant to be diffused by loudspeakers, without any intervention of live sound sources.
– The submitted work might implement a maximum of 8 channels and must have a duration between 7 and 15 minutes.
– The submitted work may have been performed in concert but It should not be the object of any discographic publication/rights.


– The deadline for submission is 31st of December 2018.


The Jury will select and mention the 5 highest quality works and will award three of them with prizes of €600 €400 €300 respectively. Contemporary Music Lab will present the distincted pieces in a concert in April 2019.
The entry fee for participation is 15€. You can use the following links to pay on-line.

[Greek Citizens payment] [Non-Greek Citizens payment]
Alternatively you can wire transfer to the following bank account:
Xenakis Competition – Eidikos Logariasmos Kondilion Erevnas A.P.TH. KE.D.E.A.
Tritis Septemvriou University Campus GR 54636 Thessaloniki Greece.
IBAN: GR98 0172 2020 0052 0200 2079 933. BIC Code: PIRBGRAΑ.
(please send us a receipt of payment along with your submission).


– All applicants should submit a single zip file containing the following files inside a single folder:

i. A short biography, contact information and information about the piece in the following formats: (.doc, .txt, .rtf or .pdf).
ii. 1 Audio file (.aiff or .wav format, 16bit or 24bit at 44,1kHz sampling rate) containing the stereo version of the piece.
iii. Additionally, for multichannel pieces the audio files corresponding to each of the channels inside a separate folder along with set-up/routing information on a separate sheet
iv. Please include also the pdf receipt of the fee payment

– Please name the ZIP file as following: IX2018_Name_Surname_TitleOfThePiece (e.g. IX2018_Nick_Edison_Title).

– Please use the following link to register your details and upload your piece

Application Form

By entering his/her work in the competition, the composer consents to public performances free of charge of his/her work in concerts and/or radio broadcasting.

 The composer retains the copyright of his/her work. The files entered in the competition shall remain in the archives of Contemporary Music Lab of Aristotle University of Thessaloniki.

Trevor Wishart (UK) – Chair
Ludger Brümmer (DE)
Oliver Carman (UK)
Panayiotis Kokoras (GR/USA)
Joao Pedro Oliveira (PT)


For any additional information please do not hesitate to get in contact with us

31 Dec 2018
Euro (EUR)