2020 Mizzou International Composers Festival

The Mizzou New Music Initiative is now accepting applications for eight resident composers to take part in the 2020 Mizzou International Composers Festival (MICF), which will be held July 27- August 1, 2020 on the campus of the University of Missouri in Columbia.

Chen Yi and David T. Little will serve as the distinguished guest composers for the 2020 MICF, which will include several public concerts of contemporary music as well as workshops, master classes and other events.

As in years past, Saturday night’s grand finale at the Missouri Theatre will feature the world premieres of new works from each of the eight resident composers, with the acclaimed new music group Alarm Will Sound, conducted by artistic director Alan Pierson, serving as resident ensemble.

The resident composers are selected for the MICF each year through an online portfolio application process. During the Festival, they’ll receive composition lessons from the distinguished guest composers and take part in rehearsals with Alarm Will Sound. Each composer also will receive a professional live recording of their work.

Composers selected as resident participants for the festival will be expected to compose a work for Alarm Will Sound’s complete instrumentation (see below), lasting up to 8 minutes in duration. Each selected resident composer must submit a finished preliminary score by April 21, 2020 for review by Alarm Will Sound, and professionally prepared scores and parts of the final work are due by May 12, 2020.

Festival tuition, room, and board for each selected composer will be provided through the generous contributions of the Sinquefield Charitable Foundation. Selected composers will need to pay for transportation to and from Columbia, MO.

Festival Application Submission Guidelines:

  • Complete the online application process here
  • Under the "Program Groups" tab, select "2020 Mizzou International Composers Festival"
  • Under the "Program" tab, select "Online Application"
  • Follow the Online Application Guidelines
  • Pay the $22.00 application fee.
  • Upload three scores of original works with contrasting instrumentation. One score must be written for chamber orchestra or large ensemble. If you have a piece scored for Alarm Will Sound’s instrumentation (listed below) please include that work as one of the three submitted scores.
  • Upload recordings of the same works. Live recordings preferred but MIDI recordings are accepted.
  • Upload a Resume (two pages maximum)

Alarm Will Sound’s Instrumentation:

  • Flute/Piccolo
  • Oboe/English Horn
  • E-flat Clarinet/B-flat Clarinet
  • B-flat Clarinet/Bass Clarinet
  • Bassoon
  • Horn
  • Trumpet
  • Trombone/Bass Trombone
  • Percussion: Two players with standard multi-percussion, mallet percussion, and drum kit
  • Piano
  • Violin 1
  • Violin 2/Viola
  • Viola
  • Cello
  • Double Bass

For more information, please visit http://composersfestival.missouri.edu or contact Jacob Gotlib.

15 Nov 2019
U.S. Dollar (USD)