Robert Avalon International Competition for Composers

The Annual Robert Avalon International Competition for Composers, now in its second decade, is accepting entries. This unique and signature event for our organization includes four categories for chamber music: Junior, High School, University/Emerging Artist, and Professional. The latter classification has no age limit; professors are therefore eligible as well. There is also a short film score division. Visit our website for further information and to apply:

The deadline for scores and films is Friday, 20 December 2019, and the top two places in each division receive cash awards. Prizewinners are requested to be present for the concert in Houston in 2020; participating in the performance and/or rehearsals is encouraged but optional.

Past judges serving on our distinguished panel have included William Bolcom, Kyong-Mee Choi, Edmund Cionek, Colin Eatock, Carlisle Floyd, Arthur Gottschalk, Gabriela Frank, Daron Hagen, Ted Hearne, Laura Jackson, Anne LeBaron, Tania León, Carman Moore, Robert Nelson, Chris Theofanidis, Juan Trigos, Mary Carol Warwick, and Barbara White. Composers from around the globe have participated as contestants, and each year both established and new voices benefit from the acclaim of prestigious artists.

Dr. Paul Boyd
FMM Executive Director
Professor of Music
College of the Mainland

20 Dec 2019
U.S. Dollar (USD)