39th IAWM Search for New Music by Women Composers

The International Alliance for Women in Music (IAWM) announces its annual “Search for New Music by Women Composers” competition. Membership in IAWM is required, but contestants may join at the time of entry. This call is open to IAWM women-identified composer members.


Ruth Anderson Commission Prize ($1,000)
Commission for a new sound installation with electro-acoustic music.

To apply, submit a detailed proposal of the sound installation. The project should be an ongoing installation and not require a performance to be successful. The project must be completed within 12 months of notification of the award. The winner will receive the award money after submitting a report to IAWM following the public showing of the completed installation. Location of the installation may be, but is not restricted to, an IAWM annual concert or conference.

Christine Clark/Theodore Front Prize ($500)
Large chamber works (for 9+ instruments) and/or orchestral works; may include works featuring soloist (vocal or instrumental).
Sponsored by Christine Clark of Theodore Front Musical Literature, Inc.

Miriam Gideon Prize ($500)
(minimum age - fifty) Works for solo voice with 1-5 instruments.
Sponsored by Lucille Field Goodman.

Libby Larsen Prize ($300)
(must be currently enrolled in school) Works for any medium.
Sponsored by Dr. Larsen.

Portland Jazz Composers Ensemble Prize ($300)
Jazz compositions of any duration for small ensemble to big band (4-17 instruments)

PatsyLu Prize ($500)
(for Black women and/or lesbians) Classical art music in any form or instrumentation.
Sponsored by Patsy Rogers and Lucille Field Goodman.

Pauline Oliveros New Genre Prize ($300)
Works incorporating innovative form or style, such as improvisation, multimedia, use of non-traditional notation, open instrumentation, or new performance practices. If no score is used, a description of the work and its inspiration should accompany the audio or video submission.
Sponsored by Claire Chase.

Alex Shapiro Prize ($500 and mentorship/consultation from Alex Shapiro)
Works of any duration for large ensemble wind band requiring a conductor, with or without soloist, acoustic or electroacoustic, published or as yet unpublished.
Sponsored by Alex Shapiro.

Judith Lang Zaimont Prize ($400)
(minimum age - thirty) Extended instrumental compositions—large solo or chamber works—by a composer whose music has not yet been commercially recorded or published.
Sponsored by Professor Zaimont.

NEW! Choral/Vocal Ensemble Prize ($300)
Compositions of any duration for choral or vocal ensemble.


ONE ENTRY: A composer may submit only one piece in any given year in only one chosen category. Please do not send more than one composition total.
MEMBERSHIP: Current membership in IAWM is required for submission. If your membership is not current at time of submission, the work will be disqualified. To join IAWM or renew your membership, please see the IAWM website here: https://iawm.org/join-iawm

ANONYMOUS SUBMISSIONS: Please upload an anonymous PDF file of the score and an anonymous MP3 sound file or a link to an anonymous video of the work. If a recording of a performance/reading is not available, MP3 files of MIDI realizations are acceptable. The score may not contain any identifying information. For the Ruth Anderson Prize only, please upload your anonymous proposal as a PDF file in the PROPOSAL upload area. For all categories, please provide a short biography (maximum 200 words).

UNPUBLISHED WORKS: For all categories, except the Alex Shapiro Prize, the work submitted must be unpublished by a major publishing house and must have won no prior awards at the time of entry in the competition. Self-published works are allowed. For the Zaimont Prize, the work must also have no plans to be professionally recorded when it is submitted.

RESTRICTION FOR PREVIOUS WINNERS: Winners of previous SNM Awards cannot apply for two years subsequent to their award. For 2020, this includes winners of the 2018 and 2019 competitions. There is no restriction on submissions from those who received honorable mentions.
IAWM reserves the right to withhold an award, should the judging panel so recommend.

- The submission period begins March 15, 2020.
- Deadline for receipt of materials is 11:59 p.m. May 10, 2020. (As this is an international call for scores, the deadline for submission is in your computer’s local time zone. It is always better to submit well before the last day to avoid last minute issues that might cause you to miss the deadline. There are no exceptions to this deadline.)
- Winners will be announced no later than August 30, 2020

The IAWM website will have a complete list of winners shortly after the announcement date. A press release with biographical information on all the winners will be distributed.

Submit online at: https://www.newmusicengine.org/categories/39th-IAWM-Search-for-New-Music...

Questions: Send questions to the chair of the SNM Competition, Michele Cheng, at snm@iawm.org.

10 May 2020