ICEBERG New Music Young Composer Awards

ICEBERG New Music is pleased to announce its third annual Young Composer Awards. These awards are intended to reward composers and music-makers of exceptional ability who hail from traditionally underrepresented backgrounds. Winners will receive a $1,000 scholarship. Awardees may be active in any musical style/genre.


Applicants must be:

- At least 16 years of age

- A citizen or permanent resident of the United States

- Currently enrolled at an accredited high school (or home schooling program)

Preference will be given to applicants who self-identify as being from a traditionally underrepresented community. This includes, but is not limited to, applicants who identify as female, nonwhite, and/or LGBTQ+.

Applicants may not be related to or dependents of ICEBERG New Music member composers, board members, or administrators.


- July 1, 2020 - Application opens

- November 1, 2020 - Application closes

- January 1, 2021 - Awardees announced

- Autumn 2021 - Funds disbursed

To apply online, visit Email questions to

1 Nov 2020