Aries Composers Festival - Ionisation 2018

Aries Composers Festival - Ionisation 2018
Call for Scores


The School of Music, Theatre, and Dance at Colorado State University is pleased to announce a call for scores for the 2018 Aries Composers Festival. In its third iteration, this year’s festival will highlight chamber music for percussion with other forces. Additionally, the festival will focus on the collaborative and interactive relationship of performing and composing with many opportunities for networking and conversing with guest composers, percussionists, students, and faculty.

Deadline: September 1, 2017 (online submission)

Dates and Location: February 11-13, 2018; Colorado State University, Fort Collins, CO
Composer Benefits:

1.All composers’ works selected for the festival will receive a live performance of their work.

2.Each composer will receive a royalty-free recording of their work’s performance which can be used for their own purposes.

3. Ten composers will receive an honorarium to defer travel costs or other expenses. The amount awarded will be based on the composer’s submission category listed in the eligibility section below:
$200 each for three Undergraduates (Category I)
$300 each for three Graduates or Early Professionals (Category II)
$500 each for Professionals (Category III)
Composer Eligibility:

1.All living composers are eligible. Current and former residents of the Rocky Mountain region are especially encouraged to apply.

2.Composers will be divided into three categories based on their age, education, and experience. The three categories are described below:
•Category I – Undergraduate: Any student currently enrolled or having recently completed (within the past three years) an undergraduate degree in music composition.
•Category II – Graduate and Early Professional: Any student currently enrolled in a master’s or doctoral program in music composition or any person who has completed a graduate degree in composition within the past five years.
•Category III – Professional: Composers over the age of thirty who hold a graduate degree or equivalent training in music composition and who are currently active as professional composers.

3.Selected composers are required to attend the festival. Colorado State University will not provide any direct travel funding or make travel/lodging arrangements for guest composers or non-CSU performers. The honorarium awarded to each selected composer can be used for travel expenses if desired. Composers are strongly encouraged to arrive early and are expected to attend rehearsals if at all possible. If a selected composer cannot attend, written notification must be received by January 1, 2018.
Composition Eligibility:

1. Works will be considered in the following categories:

Chamber works – works for two to eight performers with preference given to works including percussion. The following non-percussion instruments are available: flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, saxophone, trumpet, horn, trombone, euphonium, tuba, violin, viola, cello, bass, piano, harp, and voice. Standard doublings for woodwinds are allowed as are two or more of the same instrument.

Works for percussion ensemble with or without optional players - works for at least four percussionists and, optionally, one or more non-percussion instrument/voice for a maximum of twelve players. The same instruments listed in the “chamber works” category are available.

2. Additionally, Electroacoustic Works for Percussion (works for electronics with a percussion soloist) will be considered. The work will be performed by the composer or another performer provided by the composer. Any hardware or software required for performance other than loudspeakers, microphones, and cables must be provided by the composer. Must be for two-channel audio only through CD, a digital file, or the composer’s audio equipment. Composers submitting for this category will not receive an honorarium as collaboration with CSU performers is not necessary.

3.All submissions must be original compositions by living composers. Arrangements of existing material will not be considered. Published, self-published, unpublished, previously performed, and unperformed works are all acceptable.

4. All standard and many non-Western/found percussion instruments are available. Specific concerns about percussion instrumentation can be directed to

5. The maximum duration of works is 15 minutes. For programming reasons, an individual movement or select movements may be performed instead of the complete work.

6. If the composition employs a text that is not in the public domain, the composer must provide a copy of a letter from the copyright owner giving permission to the composer to use the text.
Submission Guidelines:

1 .Composers must complete the online application form at:

2. Scores and recordings may be submitted online at the same site listed above. No paper submissions will be accepted.

3. When submitting electronically, scores must be in PDF format and recordings must be in mp3 format. Finale (.musx), Sibelius (.sib), and MIDI (.mid) files are not acceptable, however, MIDI realizations in mp3 format of unperformed works are allowed. Web links for video or audio recordings are also accepted.

4. Each composer can submit a maximum of two works total. Composers can choose to submit either two works in the same category OR one work from one category with a second work from a different category.

1. Works will be evaluated by a jury drawn from the music faculty of Colorado State University. All decisions are final.

2. A total of ten composers will be selected from the “chamber” and “percussion ensemble” submissions. The expected distribution is three Category I (undergraduate) composers, three Category II (graduate/early professional) composers, and four Category III (professional) composers. However, it is the discretion of the jury to change this distribution if deemed appropriate. Three to six works from the “electroacoustic” category will be selected with as equal division among the composer categories as possible.

3. Selected composers will be informed no later than October 1, 2017.

4. All selected composers must provide the performance parts for their work free of charge to Colorado State University. The parts for each selected work must be mailed or delivered electronically by November 1, 2017 (James David, 1778 Campus Delivery, Fort Collins, CO 80524, USA).

1 Sep 2017