ICEBERG New Music 2017-18 Call For Scores

ICEBERG New Music's 2017-18 call for scores is now open!
Submissions must be received by January 1, 2018.

Composers of any age or nationality are invited to submit scores for one or both of ICEBERG's partner ensembles, Mivos Quartet and Yarn|Wire. Up to four winning composers (at least one for each ensemble) will be selected to have their works performed as part of our 2017-18 season at the Tenri Cultural Institute in New York City. There are no restrictions on the works submitted – pieces may have been previously performed, recorded, and/or awarded. In keeping with ICEBERG's philosophy of “radical stylistic inclusiveness,” composers are encouraged to submit their music regardless of compositional style – anything from pop songs to works of new complexity are welcome, and will be considered equally.

The winning work(s) for Mivos Quartet will be performed March 23, 2018. The winning work(s) for Yarn|Wire will be performed April 20, 2018. These performances will take place at the Tenri Cultural Institute in New York City.


Submitted pieces may be no longer than 12 minutes in duration. There is no minimum duration.


Composers may submit:

A) One (1) score for performance by Mivos Quartet

B) One (1) score for performance by Yarn|Wire


C) Two (2) scores, one suitable for each ensemble.


2 Violin

Subsets of this instrumentation will be considered. Works involving electronics will be considered.


2 Piano
2 Percussion (Vibraphone, 4.3 Octave Marimba, Bass Drum, Assorted Smaller Drums/Percussion)

Subsets of this instrumentation will be considered. Works which involve electronics will be considered.


1) Send an email to that includes the following:

- PDF score(s) of the piece(s) being submitted.

- Links to streaming audio (preferred) or mp3 sound files for each piece submitted. If the work has not been recorded, MIDI realizations are acceptable.

- Contact information for the composer: phone number, email address, and website (if applicable).

2) Pay the $8 (one score) or $15 (two scores) submission fee by visiting and clicking the appropriate button near the bottom of the page.

The winning compositions will be selected by a panel which includes ICEBERG composers, as well as performers from our partner ensembles. Winning composers will be notified by email before March 1, 2018. Winning composers must be prepared to promptly supply parts and other performance materials for their selected compositions.


If you have questions, please email

1 Jan 2018
U.S. Dollar (USD)