The TAMU Composition Competition and Symposium

Compositions for woodwind quintet by young composers

Special guests Eric Ewazen and the Oregon Wind Quintet

The Texas A&M University Composition Competition and Symposium announces a call for scores to composers born after December 31, 1992 who reside in the United States. Composers are invited to submit new works for woodwind quintet (flute, oboe, clarinet, horn, and bassoon) of approximately 7–12 minutes in duration. The winning composer will receive a $500 honorarium, a performance by the Oregon Wind Quintet and travel expenses to attend the performance and symposium in College Station, Texas. The winning composer will be required to attend the symposium and give a brief talk on his or her music.

Rules for Submission

There is no entry fee.
Each composer may submit one score.
The submitted work(s) may have been previously performed but may not have won any previous competition.
Anonymous submission is not necessary.
An electronic version of the score is required and a recording is strongly encouraged. MIDI realizations are acceptable. Both must be submitted through Music Avatar.
Score format should be PDF.
Recording format should be MP3.
Submitting Work

Works need to be submitted via Music Avatar.
You will need to register with Music Avatar for free to submit your work online.
After logging in to Music Avatar, select the opportunity named "The Texas A&M University Composition Competition and Symposium" to submit work.
Follow the prompts to enter your information, upload your materials, and complete your submission.

November 17, 2017 by 11:59 P.M. CDT (UTC -5:00): Deadline for submissions
December 8, 2017: Notification of winner
December 15, 2017: Winner’s score and parts must be delivered in hard copy to the Texas A&M University Department of Performance Studies
February 27–March 1, 2018: Symposium at Texas A&M University in College Station, TX

The preliminary judging panel will include Texas A&M University faculty composers. The Oregon Wind Quintet and guest composer Eric Ewazen will select the winning composition.

More Information

Inquiries should be sent to This event is made possible by the College of Liberal Arts Strategic Development Fund and the Department of Performance Studies at Texas A&M University.

17 Nov 2017