Call for Works: Giga-Hertz Award 2018

Online application Giga-Hertz Award 2018

Period of Submission: 15.3.2018 – 31.5.2018

Since 2007 the Giga-Hertz Award for electronic and acousmatic music has been jointly awarded by the ZKM | Institute for Music and Acoustics and the EXPERIMENTALSTUDIO of the SWR. The award belongs to the most important of its kind internationally and this year is endowed with a total of 20,000 €. The two internationally oriented Giga-Hertz Special Prizes are each endowed with 5,000 €. They serve to initiate and promote new projects and are directed at composers of electronic and acousmatic music. Candidates are judged on the basis of a composition not more than five years old and a proposal for a projected work. The focus of the Special Prizes is to honor a work, and not a person. The competition is advertised publicly each year and is open to composers of all ages.

The works submitted can be of diverse combinations and types of style. There are no aesthetic constraints, only functional criteria that relate to content.
Thus, all compositions submitted should meet at least one of the following criteria:

• Compositions using live electronics
• Composition for fixed media
• Mixed music
• Concert installation
• Transmedial composition
• Experimental sound performance
• Interdisciplinary performance (with relevant music or sound components)

This year, the topic area of artificial intelligence should be given particular attention in the selection of the working scholarship. In this context, artists should be motivated to apply in particular with musical works which have been realized through the use of artificial neural networks. Alongside this, other works which have been realized with digital or electronic technology can also be submitted.

Previous awardees of the Grand Prize were important figures like Laurie Anderson, Curtis Roads, Brian Eno, Pierre Henry, Pierre Boulez, John Chowning, Francis Dhomont, Jean-Claude Risset, Pauline Oliveros, Emmanuel Nunes, Gottfried Michael Koenig, Trevor Wishart and Jonathan Harvey. Giga-Hertz Special Prizes former years went inter alia to Hans Tutschku, Maurilio Cacciatore, Astral Colonels, Huihui Cheng, Elvira Garifzyanova, Alexander Schubert, Jagoda Szmytka & Vinyl -terror & -horror.

Registration is via online application. On the online form you enter all the necessary information. Application deadline: May 31, 2018!
For further information see

31 May 2018