Sanibel-Captiva Trust Prize in Choral Composition

The Fort Myers Symphonic Mastersingers announces the first annual Sanibel-Captiva Trust Prize for Choral Composition. Composers of any age/background may submit up to two works for SATB choir with or without accompaniment (piano or organ and/or strings up to string orchestra). Works should between six and 12 minutes minutes long and have a limited performance history. Individual movements from longer works are acceptable. One winning work will be performed by the Mastersingers during the 2018-19 season and the winning composer will receive a $750 prize. Please note the following:

Composers must provide proof of permission to use texts that are not in the public domain

Composers must provide an English translation for texts in a language other than English (translation must also be in public domain or composer must acquire permission to use the translation)

The winning composer must allow the Mastersingers to duplicate scores as needed without further cost and parts for works with string orchestra should be immediately available

The winning composer is required to attend a performance (date TBD). The Mastersingers will provide lodging and local transportation.

Composers must be citizens or legal residents of the United States

All entries may be considered for future performances

There is no entry fee.

The Mastersingers have a variety of performing forces: a large 80-voice choir, a 28-voice chamber choir and youth choirs. Submissions may be for any of the groups.

Persons affiliated with the Mastersingers are prohibited from entering the competition
The Fort Myers Symphonic Mastersingers were founded in 2001. This auditioned, 80-voice community choir is composed of doctors, lawyers, homemakers, nurses, businessmen and women, music educators, professional music performers and retirees. Recent repertoire of the Mastersingers includes Verdi’s Requiem, Mozart’s Requiem, Bernstein’s Chichester Psalms, Orff’s Carmina Burana and other standard choral masterworks. The Mastersingers have also championed new music by presenting the works of living composers and premiering new works, including composers Jason Bahr, Daniel Forrest, Nancy Cobb Lippens, Robert Patterson, Z. Randell Stroope, and others.

For questions, contact Jason Bahr: bahrline (at)

All submissions must be made at Submissions sent via email, post, or other methods will not be considered.

Entries are due by May 31, 2018.

31 May 2018